View Mobile-Friendly Version

United States Chamber of Commerce Accredited

RTI Surgical and Exactech Recognized at the 2016 Local Image Awards

RTI Surgical and Exactech Recognized at the 2016 Local Image Awards

FPRALast week, the Gainesville Chapter of the Florida Public Relations Association (FPRA), the oldest public relations organization in the United States, awarded the industry’s most skilled communications professionals in north central Florida at the 2016 Gainesville Chapter’s Local Image Awards Competition. The ceremony took place at the new Liquid Creative Studios at 1314 S Main Street. Throughout the night, distinguished FPRA members and public relations practitioners from across the community were also awarded for their commitment and advancement in the field.

Professionals who were recognized for the dedication and growth in the industry include:

  • Member of the Year: Lindsey Robertson, APR
  • John Detweiler, Ed.D., APR, CPRC, Professional of the Year: Devon Chestnut, APR, CPRC
  • Rising Star of the Year: Joey Mazzaferro

Conducted annually, the Image Awards competition provides PR practitioners a platform to be recognized in their home markets for their outstanding public relations tools and programs. The ceremony recognizes successful public relations campaigns with a focus on research, strategy, implementation and execution.

The competition is divided into four divisions including Public Relations Programs, Printed Tools of Public Relations, Audio/Visual/Online Tools of Public Relations and Student Projects in Public Relations. Within these divisions are multiple categories. Entries are judged based on their extensive research, planning, implementation, and execution of public relations campaigns by members of another chapter to maintain neutrality.

To see a complete listing of all award recipients for 2016, please see below:

2016 Image Awards Winners

Division A: Public Relations Programs

Category 6: Internal – Judges Award and Image Award – FPRA Gainesville PR Masters Program, Amelia Bell, APR, CPRC and Julie Frey, APR, CPRC –

Category 8: Public Affairs – Image Award – Help Them THRIVE, Transitions Life Center, Ginger Broslat Communications, Joanne Flood

Division B: Printed Tools of Public Relations.

Category 3: Magazine – Award of Distinction – Magazine: Innovations, Colleen Raccioppi and Sheryl Connor of ExacTech

Category 9: Other – Judges Award – Other: THRIVE Expansion Grant Proposal, Transitions Life Center, Ginger Broslat Communications, Joanne Flood

Division C:  Audio/Visual Tools of Public Relations

Category 2: Online Audience Engagement  – Image Award – Online Audience Engagement: RTI Donor Services Facebook Page, RTI Donor Services Communications, RTI Surgical

Grand All Image Award: Category A-6: Internal: FPRA Gainesville PR Masters Program

Amelia Bell, APR, CPRC, and Julie Frey, APC, CPRC

FPRA members are encouraged to apply for the 2016 Golden Image Awards, the statewide Image Awards competition. The entry fee for FPRA members is $80 for each submission. The deadline to apply is Friday, May 13 and entries should be submitted online to

Click here to receive the Gainesville Chamber newsletter and other e-communications.